7. Waves of Hubris vs. Loving Yourself (Slightly different from my usual posts)

Sometimes it feels like life is at a quiet, sedentary lull. You go about your daily routine, day by day, week by week, accepting that this is your current lot.

This was certainly me for the past 3 months. I have been keeping a relatively stable and a somewhat quiet existence. But beneath the doldrums there has been plenty of tectonic activity in my mind. Some of the activity has been my practice of what has been dubbed Rejection Therapy, whereby you seek out new experiences, failure be damned. But alongside those experiences is also my attempt at actively improving my circumstances (such as my creative venture back into writing).

My doldrums have recently ended. I am working at a job right now whose contract is set to expire by the end of this month; I am not looking forward to leaving as it has been a great gig. Even more frustrating are the interviews for new jobs and the rejections therein. I would like to think that the experiences I have gained up to date set me apart from most other candidates, but maybe that is my own hubris. I have had two job interviews and have been usurped by a better candidate for the role each time. I now have a couple of choices in front of me:

Give in to sadness and cry woe is me?

Or, keep fighting the good fight until a chance to show my quality is given to me.

I choose the latter, not because the former is pathetic, but because I love myself too much to have any other choice. If there is one thing that has kept me motivated to keep writing these blogs, keeping on working out, and keeping on keepin’ on with Rejection Therapy it’s that I am the only one who can truly look after myself. Read that sentence again. If that doesn’t spray cold water into our self-obsessed Pity Parties then nothing will! At the end of the day, we need to take care of Number 1; this isn’t to say that we have to be selfish. That is entirely distorting the message. What I mean is we are truly the masters of our own happiness; we need to treat ourselves right, and we need to ensure that we are taken care of before we can help the world or take care of others. Many of us fall into patterns of bad relationships, addictions, and other negative conducts. These are all, at the root of it, symptoms of our own lack of love for ourselves, a highlighting of the fact that we feel we are worthless unless approved by others. But if we resolve to take a stand and say “Before I help so and so with such and such, I need to do this for me” then you are on the right track for personal growth.

I had someone very special and dear to me contact me recently. She expressed this very need to better herself… to love herself before she could love others. She inspired me to write this today. So this is my early article for this week, dedicated to my friend. I want to let her know that I get where she is coming from because I am on that same journey myself. So here’s to her… and to my plethora of job interviews.

Image
https://s-media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/736x/05/e5/12/05e512307041026ee60d6744d69ec6dc.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “7. Waves of Hubris vs. Loving Yourself (Slightly different from my usual posts)”

  1. “We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same” – Carlos Castaneda

Leave a Reply

